Up next

Tribunal - Without Answer

4 Views· 03/30/24
Metal Video
In Metal

'Without Answer'
The Weight Of Remembrance
Releasing January 20th, 2023


1. Initiation
2. Of Creeping Moss and Crumbled Stone
3. Apathy’s Keep
4. Remembrance
5. A World Beyond Shadow
6. Without Answer
7. The Path

The Vancouver duo Tribunal may yet be unknown to the wider world, but spellbinding debut album ‘The Weight Of Remembrance’ is poised to immediately change that. Steeped in the black velvet finery of Gothic Doom Metal, Tribunal weave dark tales of ultimate judgement, never-ending rain and forsaken despair.

Featuring classically trained cellist / bassist / vocalist Soren Mourne and guitarist / vocalist Etienne Flinn, the duo’s brick heavy classic Doom riffage borders on Death Metal heaviness, like My Dying Bride filtered through a colossal stained glass edifice. The sound is instantly familiar with nods to the 80s and 90s but never sounds retro or like mere homage. Rather ‘The Weight of Remembrance’ evokes the feeling of a painstakingly composed orchestral movement fit for a crumbling cathedral overgrown with moss. The duo frequently trade off vocals alternating between haunted wailing cleans, scathing black-metal style shrieks and dread-filled death calls.

Tribunal’s debut is an essential addition to the modern Doom canon, one which can expand in infinite musical directions from a base of crushing tragic heaviness and forlorn purpose. In that sense ‘The Weight Of Remembrance’ has the accomplished atmosphere of a band beyond their years in the scope and execution of its vision.

Shot and directed by Erik Gustafson, for Erik Gustafson Cinematography.
Production Manager: Gabrielle Gustafson

Primary Members:

Soren Mourne - Bass / Cello / Vocals
Etienne Flinn - Guitar / Vocals

Live Band Also Includes:

Julia Geaman - Drums
Jessica Yang - Guitar
Dallas - Keys

Additional Recording Musicians:

Julia Geaman - Drums
Magdalena Wienski - Additional drums on ‘Apathy’s Keep’
Claine Lamb - Piano on Remembrance
Rory Say - Additional Vocals

Recorded by Tribunal
Drums recorded by Andrew Conroy at Fifth Chord Studios
Additional drums on ‘Apathy’s Keep’ recorded by Violetta Macri at CJSF

Mixed and Mastered by Markov Soroka

Cover painting by Soren Mourne
Lettering and frame by Karmazid
Photography by Liam Kanigan
Layout by Dan Fried

Show more

 0 Comments sort   Sort By

Up next